A for Avocado

Recently my roommate has been bringing back a whole bunch of avocados from her home. They come in a soft and mashable condition, which only means one thing: eat it soon, or prepare to face the mold!!

Now normally, avocados are delicious, healthy things (will avoid saying “fruit” or “vegetable” for the sake of remaining politically safe) that we all enjoy eating. Getting some for free from your roommate’s parents is especially nice, because they can be pretty pricey…

but ever been under the pressure to finish 7 avocados within the span of 3 days, with only 2 people working on it!?

It’s hard, man.

I mean, we try everything we can think of: eat it raw, make guacamole out of it, put it in our tacos, our pasta, our stir fry (I’m not even sure if this should be legal), and we even tried making avocado fries!! FYI, I don’t recommend that last one. Blergh.

We would have made smoothies too, but we don’t have a blender…..Point being, we tried as many as Cassie Ho from Blogilates:

We still have 1 or 2 left in the fruit basket, but I’m afraid to look. Please, if anyone has a brilliant cooking idea for these mushy, green fruits, let me know!

4 thoughts on “A for Avocado

  1. That's Purrfect April 1, 2015 / 11:51 pm

    I didn’t eat an avocado until I was about 14. With the name avocado “pear”, I was expecting something sweet and juicy, so it came as a bit of a shock. I hated them, until I tried them again a few years later. Now they are one of my favourite foods! You can deep freeze avocados but the texture changes. Even so, they are then good for making dips etc.

  2. Philipa (Ozzypip) April 2, 2015 / 12:43 am

    me? I love avocados. I eat them on toast. that’s my favourite way to have them. Hot toast, butter optional, loads of avocado mashed on, salt and pepper, bit of lemon if you want (I use lemon pepper and that covers the lemon salt and pepper all in one) I can eat that for breakfast lunch and tea…but can you freeze guacomale? I can’t spell it but you know what I mean… if you mash the avo and freeze it….

    from a fellow A-Zer

  3. umrnic April 2, 2015 / 2:59 pm

    Too much of anything is a bad thing :-b. It’s how bananas are at work. Every day you can take home bananas for free if you want, so many people would take them home for banana bread and such, not too surprising anymore than none are taken home really anymore :-b

Leave a Reply

