“Something About Delirium”

My contribution to the timeless genre of late night poetry, in which sleep-deprived students dating as far back as ancient Greek and Roman times collectively lament their woeful circumstances.

“Something About Delirium: No Edits Required”

In the midnight hours
more lights blink on
then in daylight hours…
then they keep blinking
blinking
and I must think
and keep thinking
at something more
Reach for more
more
of something
of anything
and sing
scratchily along
to a Youtube song
then blink
and stare again
at the cursor as it
blinks blinks blinks
“You must be strong!”
There’s more
than that, there’s more
than this, I think,
I really think
the missing link
is not some baboon
but an ice cream spoon
You must be wrong
I think you’re wrong
since every blink
blinks and blinks
brings me careening
staggering
tottering
towards the dreaded witching hours
where sticky coffee
and donuts gone sour
taste like dreamy moments
when I blink,
come awake
and stare again,
until rosy dawn
yawns awake
unnoticed by the light that blinks
on my screen
in a light white sheen
of sleep.

Leave a Reply

