Who cares about my opinion?

“You are not entitled to your opinion. You are entitled to your informed opinion. No one is entitled to be ignorant.”

Harlan Ellison

Copy-pasted directly from Goodreads.com, where books and quotes are gathered into one convenient website.

Wouldn’t you agree when I say, “Yes!!” to Ellison’s frankness? The truth of this statement seems obvious, but is certainly ignored. Whether we are talking about Obama’s health care programs, or about the Islamic terrorists, or about police brutalities against black residents in US communities, no one should have the right to say whatever they want, before they’ve taken to the time to really assess the facts.

What is the situation, really?

What is actually going on? Behind sensationalized media coverage and angry haters hating on one side or another, where is the truth?

I’ve sometimes wondered if I should try to be more vocal about some of the larger issues that dominate our culture today. I tend to be fairly passive about most of these things. In recent months, I’ve begun to realize that if I want to be a professing Christian, if I truly wish to be the light and salt of the world (Matt. 5:13-16), then hiding inside the carefully trimmed hedges of my church is not the way to go. I must be in the world, as much as I am apart from it; in order to share the gospel to people, I must seek them out and learn to converse with them without resorting to highfalutin religious lingo.

salt_and_light_card-p137441497217324577q0yk_400

God calls us to deny the ways of the world, but that does not mean we’re excused for being ignorant. Whether I am sharing the truth of Christ or expotulating on the greatness of God, in every way I should be fully aware of the context of the culture in which I am speaking.

Only then, I think, will my informed opinion become the truth for my listeners.

Leave a Reply

